A Winner is Me

Almost a month ago, I began the epic journey of National Novel Writing Month, where I tracked my progress on nanowrimo.org. Today, I surpassed the 50,000 word mark. So, I win! Yay, go me!

Here is my award:

Of course, this only represents me reaching the 50,000 word mark. In reality, the novel is only about 1/3 of the way finished. I still have a LOT more work to do on it. On the plus side, I have proven to myself that I -can- write novel-length works (my first attempt was a full story… and was 26,000 words. Barely a kid’s book in length and not even remotely safe for kids to read).

My impressions of the nano experience:

People start off enthusiastic. We go to meetings called write-ins with other authors (I hosted one every Tuesday in November myself), but as the month goes on, interest flags.

And no wonder. It is November. In the US (where I live), we have Thanksgiving, Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Christmas Shopping, guests coming over for dinner, cooking, cleaning, and a thousand other things to do. Somehow, showing up and writing in a cafe somewhere with a bunch of strangers seems to find it’s way to the back of the to-do list every time.

With the holiday season beginning in earnest, and Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanza/Whatever just around the corner, November strikes me a really bad choice for the month to do this. Hey Congress, if you’re reading this, consider switching National Novel Writing Month to a month with no holidays, like August. Sure, you lose the alliteration, but that’s not generally considered good writing anyways.

To all my other fellow NaNo writers, I hope you made your word counts and even more than that, I hope this inspired in you a sense of accomplishment and a sense that you CAN do it.  Best of luck, and good writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under I Can See For Miles - Art, Words words words - Writing and books

Leave a Reply

